Graiguenamanagh, Co. Kilkenny

This weekend we went to Joe’s family house in County Kilkenny, in a town called Graig for short. We arrived Friday night and had a lovely meal of Beef Wellington, wine, and red velvet cupcakes with Joe’s parents and one of his brothers. On Saturday three of us headed to Waterford city for lunch and for me to pick up something only available at a local shop. Got to meet more of Joe’s family who were passing through the town as well!

By the time we got back, more people had arrived and by dinner time there were 9 of us ready for the BBQ!  Most of Joe’s family was present and I had such a fun time all weekend. Saturday’s BBQ menu had: burgers, chicken breast, sausages, curry potatoes (amazing), salad, white chocolate cheesecake, red velvet cupcakes, and biscuit cake. I was still full when I woke up Sunday!

Sunday we also BBQ’d, this time with a menu of: shrimp (prawns in Ireland) kabobs with peppers and onions, peanut sauce marinated pork, salad, and leftover desserts. I was so full, I didn’t have room for dessert but Joe’s mom graciously sent us back to Dublin with cheesecake! Amazing food, hospitality, and company, and all around good time this weekend! I’m exhausted, and probably need to add an extra hour or two to my walk this week from all the food I ate. (Y, can I get that brownie recipe too? :P) I also got a fantastic Irish cookbook from Joe’s mom, and I can’t wait to try some of the recipes!

Leave a Reply

